Here’s a roundup of media about my first book In Visible Archives: Queer and Feminist Visual Culture in the 1980s (2023). It included recorded book talks and podcasts that I’ve done as well as reviews that folks have written. A full list of all talks and events including those that were not recorded can be found on my CV. I’m happy to talk at your institution, with your community group, and with your scholarly society.

Recorded Book Talks

  • On January 23, 2024, I was spoke to the Stonewall National Museum & Archives community about my book in conversation with Robert Kesten, the executive director of Stonewall. Link.
  • On January 16, 2024, I spoke about the first chapter of my book as part of the Feminist and Accessible Publishing and Tech Speaker Series at McGill University. Link.
  • On January 11, 2024, I spoke about my book with the Society of Fellows in Critical Bibliography in conversation with Alison Fraser, Associate Curator of the Poetry Collection and Coordinator of the Rare & Special Books Collection at the University at Buffalo. Link forthcoming.
  • On October 7, 2023, I spoke about my book with the Charis Books & More community in conversation with Juliana Kubala, Senior Lecturer for the Institute for Women’s, Gender and Sexuality Studies at Georgia State University. Link.
  • On September 5, 2023, I spoke about the second chapter of my book with the New York Comics & Picture-story Symposium community. Link.

Podcasts

  • On January 19, 2024, I spoke about my book on the “When You Need Lots of Images in Your Book” episode of Writing It! The Podcast About Academics & Writing, where I was interviewed by Rachel Gordan. Link.
  • On January 23, 2024, I spoke about my book on the “Is P*rn Feminist? Revisiting the 1980s Anti-P*rn and Sex Wars w/ Dr. Margaret Galvan” episode of The Ivory Tower Boiler Room, where I was interviewed by Andew Rimby. Link.
  • On January 17, 2024, I spoke about my book on the “Comics, Visual Culture, and Feminism in the 1980s” episode of UMP Podcast, where I was interviewed by Ramzi Fawaz and Anna Peppard. Link.
  • On December 1, 2023, I spoke about my book on the “Margaret Galvan travels between visual archives to sense how memory is preserved & proscribed” episode of Pretty Heady Stuff, where I was interviewed by Scott Stoneman. Link.
  • On October 7, 2023, I spoke about my book on the “Visibility” episode of High Theory, where I was interviewed by Kim Adams. Link.
  • On September 16, 2023, I spoke about my book on the “In Visible Archives” episode of the New Books Network podcast, where I was interviewed by Jen Hoyer. Link.

Reviews

  • On May 8, 2024, a review of my book by Max Shirley appeared in the LSE Review of Books. Link.
  • On May 6, 2024, a review of my book by Thomas Poole appeared in Archives and Records. Link.
  • On March 7, 2024, a review of my book by Aaron Kashtan appeared in the Journal of Graphic Novels and Comics. Link.